St John the Divine church was built in 1863 in an attempt to ‘civilize the miners’. A major restoration project was undertaken in 1953 and another smaller one in 2001. The original walls, rafters and handmade nails are still clearly visible but sadly all that remains of the original rectory beside the church is its stone foundation.
Exhibits within the church include original altar pieces from the 1860’s as well as “Enduring Threads”, a collection of antique linens, many hand stitched by the students off ‘All Hallows in the West’ girls school .
The church was used for services from its completion on April 19, 1863 until it officially closed in 1976.
The church is open during our regular operating season or by appointment. Wedding and special event rentals are also available.