A heritage building built in the 1870′s, the ‘Creighton House’ is home to our museum, gift shop, archives and Beth Clare garden. It’s a fitting showcase for the many historical artifacts on display.
Indoor exhibits include artifacts and photographs showcasing the diverse history of Yale. A beautiful collection of First Nations baskets, Gold Rush, Chinese and Pioneer artifacts, railway exhibits and pieces donated by the former students of All Hallows girls school are just some of the items in our collection. A donation by Rose Charlie and her family of an 1853 ‘Peace’ piano is a wonderful addition to our museum.
Our outdoor exhibits include our Living History ‘Tent City’, showing life during the gold rush of 1858, where visitors to our site can ‘step back in time’ and experience the early days of the 1858 Fraser River Gold Rush or try their hand at panning for gold. Also on site and celebrating 150 years this summer is St. John the Divine church.
A National Historic Site monument to Chinese railroad workers is the first monument in Canada to be inscribed in English, French and Chinese.
Opening for tours this summer is the newly conserved Ward House. Originally built in 1863 by William ‘Johnny’ H. Ward, the home burnt down in one of several fires to sweep through town. It was rebuilt on it’s original foundation and now dates to 1880.